Shared Inheritance

When trouble is slapped across your face like Winter’s chill
And the Wind seems to bring nothing but bouts of hell
I want you to remember that you are stronger than the dejection you feel
You are the boiling blood of a thousand simmering Summers
You are the steadfast spirit of several scorching Suns
You have limbs that have learnt to overcome pain with graceful ease
And you are blessed with a soul that can endure many more seasons of wickedness
Though today you are forced to carry burdens that are not your inheritance
Know that your bones will slowly learn to adore the weight of this grief
For we have all fought wars that were never meant to be our battles
And we have all forged choices that have broken our hearts
This struggle is not your lonesome heritage
It is not your tragedy
Look close and you will find that we are barks of the same eternal tree
Some thriving and some still finding their roads to kinder skies.

~Tanya S.~
Image Courtesy: Pinterest

17 thoughts on “Shared Inheritance

    1. I agree. The worst battles are the ones we fight with ourselves. Winning those can get tricky know! I’m glad I could stir your mind in some way. Thank you for reading, Gab!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Please take mine. I am willing to send them all for free. My cousin back in Shimla (which is relatively colder than where I’m at) has been saying – Whoever is incharge of Spring this season is doing a very shitty job – you’re not alone Larry, you’re not alone!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I hear you! It was like that for us last year but this one’s just been awfully cold. Spring chose to not show up and I can sense that Summer is going to be a pain. Climate change is awfully real and scary.

        Like

  1. “I want you to remember…”

    At this point in the poem you have set things up where you or the reader can diverge in several directions. You chose the optimistic, humanist viewpoint, while recognizing and calling out the sources of suffering.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t like writing preachy poems Larry. But once in a while, it’s good fun. At least you get to use big, scary words for a change. (chuckles)
      But yes, I wanted to give it an optimistic spin. Some good should come out of misery, especially in times like these. Thank you for your keen interest in my musings. I appreciate it quintals!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thinking this song shares in the spirit of your poem, maybe on a more intimate than universal level. Mostly sharing because I think you might like it:

    Cinnamon Tree
    Esperanza Spalding

    Cinnamon tree, graceful and free
    We meet just once in a while
    But the spice in your smile is magic to me
    Cinnamon tree, wise and sturdy
    Your roots are firm in the ground to soak up what’s around
    And make sweet seasoning, whoa

    Please rub off on me
    So I carry a little of your auburn hue
    For spice when days are dull and dreary
    You bend your bows towards me
    Times I’m weak and need someone to turn to
    You share your flavor, ease my misery
    Aha, you give all that you are
    And just keep on growing, your fragrance lives
    In all who know you

    Cinnamon tree, graceful and free
    We meet just once in a while
    But the spice in your smile is magic to me
    Cinnamon tree, wise and sturdy
    Your roots are firm in the ground to soak up what’s around
    And make sweet seasoning, whoa

    Liked by 2 people

    1. The lyrics are pure gold! I’m going to add this to my list of “Pep Me Up” songs, you know for days when I need sweet seasoning. Thank you, Larry.

      Like

Leave a comment