Big Bold Blank 

It’s been a week of blanks. Words come, words go and nothing. All my attempts at writing have been fair and square unproductive and at best I can rhyme cat with rat. Desperate times call for desperate measures aka Neil Gaiman, the book in question “American Gods”. I have this bad habit of flipping through the pages before I get down to read and I happened to come across this mind-blasting paragraph which I thought I’d share here. Without further ado…

“I can believe that the world is run by secret banking cartels and is visited by aliens on a regular basis, nice ones that look like wrinkled lemurs and bad ones who mutilate cattle and want our water and our women. I believe that all politicians are unprincipled crooks and I still believe that they are better than the alternative. I believe that antibacterial soap is destroying our resistance to dirt and disease so that one day we’ll all be wiped out by the common cold like martians in War of the Worlds. I believe that candy really did taste better when I was a kid, that it’s aerodynamically impossible for a bumble bee to fly, that light is a wave and a particle, that there’s a cat in a box somewhere who’s alive and dead at the same time (although if they don’t ever open the box to feed it it’ll eventually just be two different kinds of dead). I believe in a personal god who cares about me and worries and oversees everything I do. I believe in an impersonal god who set the universe in motion and went off to hang with her girlfriends and doesn’t even know that I’m alive. I believe in an empty and godless universe of causal chaos, background noise, and sheer blind luck. I believe in absolute honesty and sensible social lies. I believe in a woman’s right to choose, a baby’s right to live, that while all human life is sacred there’s nothing wrong with the death penalty if you can trust the legal system implicitly, and that no one but a moron would ever trust the legal system. I believe that life is a game, that life is a cruel joke, and that life is what happens when you’re alive and that you might as well lie back and enjoy it.”

36 thoughts on “Big Bold Blank 

  1. Powerful statements that woe cognitive distance with the realities of duality in thought and practices. I love many statements there. As for you, usually when we get stuck it is because we are not writing what we should be, sometimes trying to tap around the depths with creativity rather than resolve in the crevices. But that is only sometimes 🙂 Other times who the hell knows hehe. However, because I am intuitive and you cat get around that…the piece that struck you here, the one that you shared is an indication to me that I am right on target with my first assertion. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh Neil Gaiman can never disappoint. As for me, I’m going to take some time off and dig deep. Going to try and find things that’ll revive the flow of my words (hopefully). Creativity is secondary for now, any words shall do. If only I were Neil Gaiman, but I’m Zen. That too a fucked up version. 😀

      Thanks for taking out time to comment Tammy, I’m going to start exploring those crevices. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s an amazing quote. 🙂

    I had an instructor in a religion class who asked us to put images of what we believe onto a page. I ended up handing in a blank page. Back then, I wasn’t sure why I don’t have a set of beliefs. Now, I think the reason I don’t believe anything is so that I can believe anything. I’m open to possibilities. So when your mind is a blank page, it just means that you’re open to the next idea that will inevitably come to it.

    For example, I once wrote a poem about how I couldn’t think of anything to write.
    https://gabriel360live.wordpress.com/2015/04/16/when-block/

    Anyway, enjoy your small vacation from writing and just look forward to when that next idea will jump into your head. I’m sure it’ll be a good one. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh thank you for sharing this wonderful parable of sorts! I too believe that believing with closed minds is futile, a one track mind can only head straight to a dead end. It’s been a week of blanks pages and I hope something sparks. It will, I know, just need to give myself some time. Will go through the poem in 3…2….1…. I’m there. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. We share, amongst other things, a love of Neil Gaiman’s books! I remember reading that part of the book and my jaw dropping in sheer awe of his profligacy (the third of the three definitions at http://www.dictionary.com/browse/profligacy). You are a woman in the same mould and I am a planet orbiting the double sun that is he and thee. How’s that – 2 metaphors in one sentence; you don’t see that every day of the week! 🙂
    Kindness – Robert.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I stalk Neil Gaiman very religiously and I hope to do that in person one day, for all of my days until I get a restraining order. Life goals.
      Talking about metaphors, that was brilliant but I think you could use an upgrade. Don’t be a planet, you’re definitely Sun material Rob. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This is when I write nonsense poetry. It usually works out. I also avoid rhyming, unless I jump in the deep end of rhyming.

    This comment is all about me. It probably contains no useful information.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh no but you’ve got to discover yourself yourself. You’ll find plenty of files in plenty of minds but the one unravelling in your head is the one that matters most. Nuf said. Good night. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Zen, the truth is that the cat and the rat just don’t believe that our lives are so pure that we cannot survive at out present reality with chaos resulting in things that drive us to live in the place that we are at.
    That really made no sense! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m sorry Zen, I can’t decipher that either. I made that comment in the middle of my drunk poetry celebration. It was fun but confusing. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

