Emotional Lockdown

789dad9c1f889f2634bb54313ab0677a

I am caught in a rut and I am losing all sense of direction

As my emotions drive me in circles on an endless loop.

I try not to think, I try not to over-analyse

But I am a slave to my thoughts and can slaves ever win?

Unbridled, these feelings run wild and I can’t help but chase after them.

I don’t have a choice. I am shackled to my mind and it feels like there’s no escape.

And I can’t deny. I am a hostage to what I feel and I feel far too much for far too long.

And maybe I am not wired right but even if I were, would that make any difference?

6 thoughts on “Emotional Lockdown

  1. I can very much relate to it. Beautiful post buddy. Have been battling depression and anxiety for quite sometime now. And overthinking has been my best friend for years. It’s a strenuous task finding a way out of the labyrinth of overthinking.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like to think slaves ultimately win, because they have a hunger for what is taken for granted by those not enslaved. In this case clarity of thought and direction. The desire they have fuels the outcome that isn’t always clear while going through an emotional experience. :). Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for taking out the time to go through my posts, Jones. I feel elated!

      You’re right, slaves do win. And I’d rather be a slave to my mind than a master of my thoughts. Because there is so much to learn from struggles and failures, they’re lessons for the soul. But it’s funny how the mind works against you when you’re low, all clarity is lost and it’s a downward spiral from there. Wanted to capture that state of non-clarity with this post and I’m glad you caught that πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

