My Heart Is Where My Home Is

img_0888-1

Being from an average small town (so they would say) nestled in the heart of the Himalayas, I knew moving out of Shimla was inevitable. We kids back home were (and still are) more or less brainwashed into believing that our beautiful little town is inadequate for a good life, which is somewhat true or false, depending on your definition of a good life. My town is most likely to disappoint the go-getters and the dreamers, the high-flyers, the hustlers, the eager-beavers. It has nothing much to offer in terms of a lush-plush life.

Β My brother says and I agree that I’m one of those lucky few who’ve had (and will always have) the privilege of enjoying the best of both worlds. But these six years of being pushed and shoved in different cities have taken a toll on this little country-mouse and I just want to go back to the mountains for now, back to a simple life under sunny, blue skies. The charm of the city lights has faded all too quickly or maybe I was never cut out for it in the first place (Or my parents didn’t brainwash me right or just enough). Be that as it may, I’m so glad I’m finally going back home and I wish I could stay for good but sadly my dredged life requires me to slog in the city at some point or the other (survival).

I guess once I’m back home I won’t miss much but I’m most certainly going to miss :

  1. Living alone and feeling all butch about it.
  2. Late night food delivery and cheap Chinese take out.
  3. Anonymity.
  4. Wearing inappropriate clothes.

I won’t be writing till I’m there. (I reach Tuesday) Frankly the excitement kills all sense of expression. Happy weekend all! See you on the other side.Β 


All pictures (minus the one of the city buildings) were clicked at our home-stay property in Shimla that my father and my brother built together with a whole lot of love and a whole lot of tiffs and this is, quite obviously, our favourite place on Earth.)

28 thoughts on “My Heart Is Where My Home Is

  1. wow… i guess the beauty of a small town can never be matched by city life.. its actually looks more like a fake life in the cities.. people are much more trustworthy, helpful and friendly in small towns.. thanks for sharing!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s true. I love small town living, we’re all a big family back home. There is a tremendous sense of security when you live in a close knit community. And I wish more people would choose quality over quantity, it’s more satisfying in the long run. Thank you for reading. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh anytime! And I get that a lot about this picture, I clicked this one three years back and some people have refused to believe it’s Shimla. But it is and this was at our place when Bumbles was trying his best to avoid me πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you, it was a fluke, I’m not good with pictures. But it is a beautiful place and you have to see it to believe it. And I’m sure Bumbles is enjoying acting all crazy and demented in heaven πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey, great post and beautiful snaps! Travelling to Shimla has been on my bucket list for quite some time now, but my college schedule keeps me busy like anything! Your post rekindled the desire to be there! I wish i could teleport! Life between the mountains and on the lap of nature has always fascinated me, away from all the troubles of life. Complete Nirvana! πŸ™‚ Well now I know where to drop by, if i someday i get the chance to visit! RIP Mr. Bumbles! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh you must visit. Main Shimla is pretty commercial but the outskirts are beautiful beyond expression. Would make for a nice college trip for sure. Bumbles most be freaking out for all this attention. Thank you for reading πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This is so beautiful ❀ I understand how you feel! Sometimes you just need a way out of the city to gulp in some fresh air again and feel like you can breathe again at last.

    Thank you for sharing this amazing post delivering snaps of your universe to our amazed eyes.

    Have a wonderful trip back home lovely ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Somehow I missed reading the full comment yesterday. I blame exhaustion. Yes, it’ll be good to be back amongst the mountains. You’ll be seeing a whole lot of my place. Thank you for your wishes, it’s time I read your new post now πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You come across as enigmatic and Shimla looks unreal. Coming from a densely populated small city, but now many years removed to the burbs, I can still feel that part of myself hardwired into my being. Still, I can appreciate the beauty and solitude of your home.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah I like to think I’m rather boring but I’ll take enigmatic as a compliment. I can understand, over time we get tuned to city life and most of the time it’s something that’s more needed than wanted. But you’re always welcome to stop by, Shimla is truly a wonderful place! Thank you for reading. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

